in Television

Who Won ‘The Amazing Race’ Season 25?

amazing race sweet scientists

It’s the Sweet Scientists, Amy and Maya!

Who would have thought that the team that was consistently in the back of the pack would run away with the million dollar prize? Amy and Maya, nicknamed the “Candy Girls” by their fellow racers, are only the third all-female team to win The Amazing Race. Previous all-female team winners include Nat & Kat, a pair of doctors, from season 17 and Kisha & Jen, sisters, from season 18.

All season long, Misti & Jim (#TheDentists) and Adam & Bethany (#SoulSurfers) appeared to be the strongest of the Final 4 teams judging by their performance in previous legs; in the finale, however, they ended up finishing 2nd and 3rd. A surfer from Hawaii, Bethany made headlines after surviving a shark attack in 2003 in which her left arm was bitten off and even had a movie made about her called Soul Surfer. The Wrestlers, Brooke & Robbie, finished in 4th place.

Amy DeJong, 24, and Maya Warren, 29, are food scientists from Madison, Wisconsin. (Maya appears to be the bigger Amazing Race superfan of the two.)

Season 26 of The Amazing Race will premiere Wednesday, February 26, 2015. The season will feature all dating couples, with five teams being blind dates.

Are you happy with the outcome this season? Who were you rooting for?